Patna - District History, Facts, Area and Information

Patna, the capital of Bihar state, is one of the oldest cities in India. During Mughal times it was known as Azimabad. The ancient city of Pataliputra was founded in the 5th century BC by Ajatashatru, king of Magadha. His son, Udaya, made it the capital of Magadha, and remained so until the 1st century BC. In 1541, an Afghan ruler rebuilt the city as Patna, and it flourished again under the Mughal Empire.

The Patna sub-division is part of Patna district. It is controlled by an IAS or state Civil service officer of the rank of Sub Divisional Magistrate (SDM). The Patna Tehsil or Sub-division is divided into 3 Blocks, each headed by a Block Development Officer (BDO). The list of Blocks is as follows:

  • Patna
  • Sampatchak
  • Phulwari Sharif