Know about Bhagalpur District:

Bhagalpur district is a major district of Bihar state. Bhagalpur city is the headquarters of this district. This district is situated on the banks of river Ganga. In the Puranas and the Mahabharata, this region has been considered a part of Anga region. Champanagar situated in Bhagalpur district is considered to be the capital of the great brave warrior Karna.

The nearest airports here are Gaya and Patna. This district is also well connected by rail and road. Of the three major universities of ancient times, namely Takshashila, Nalanda, and Vikramshila, one university was in Bhagalpur, which we know by the name of Vikramshila.

The holy river Ganga is also known as Jhanvi. The place where Ganga was given this name is called Ajgaevi Nath. This pilgrimage is also in Bhagalpur. Bhagalpur district is also known as "Silk City", because mainly Tussar silk is produced here.

Administrative Setup of Bhagalpur District

Bhagalpur district consists of 3 Sub-Divisions and 16 Blocks. Three Sub-Divisions are - Bhagalpur Sadar, Kahalgaon, Naugachhia

Bhagalpur district has seven Vidhan Sabha seats. Here is the list of the Vidhan Sabha electorates in the Bhagalpur district:

  • Bihpur
  • Gopalpur
  • Pirpainty (SC)
  • Kahalgaon
  • Bhagalpur
  • Sultanganj
  • Nathnagar

Geography of Bhagalpur

The total covered area of ​​Bhagalpur district is 2,569 square kilometers. Located at the bottom of the Ganges basin, Bhagalpur coordinates at 25°15'N 87°0'E. Khagaria, Munger, Banka, Madhepura and Purnia in Bihar and Sahebganj and Godda in Jharkhand are located near Bhagalpur border.

Places to Visit in Bhagalpur

Bhagalpur has historical as well as religious significance. It is one of the significant places in Bihar. The following is a list of some of Bhagalpur's most popular tourist attractions:

  • Vaasupujya Bhagwan Mahavir Jain Mandir
  • Ruins of Vikramshila University
  • Ghantaghar
  • Vikramshila Gangetic Dolphin Sanctuary
  • Sultanganj
  • Ghuran Peer Baba
  • Mandar Hill
  • Colganj Rock Cut Temples
  • Ajgaibinath Temple
  • Burhanath Temple

What is the RTO code of Bhagalpur District?

BR 10 is the RTO code of Bhagalpur City.