Know about Munger:

Munger district is one of the thirty-eight districts of Bihar state in eastern India. The city of Munger is the administrative headquarters of this district. The district is a part of Munger Division. Its literacy rate of 73.3% is higher than the state literacy rate of 63.8%, but lower than national rate of 74.04%.

Interesting facts about Munger District

Munger has seen five districts partitioned off from its territory: Begusarai in 1972;Khagaria in 1988; and Jamui in 1991; and Lakhisarai district and Sheikhpura in 1994.

Administrative Setup

There are 3 Subdivisions and these 3 further subdevided into 9 blocks.

  • 3 Subdivisions are - Munger Sadar, Haveli Kharagpur, Tarapur
  • 9 Blocks are - Sadar, Jamalpur, Bariarpur, Dharhara, Kharagpur, Tetiabamber, Tarapur, Asarganj, Sangrampur

What are visiting places in Munger?

There are numerous places to visit in Munger. Chandika Temple, Bihar School of Yoga, Munger Fort, Kastaharani Ghaat

  • PIN Code: 811201 to 811214 , 813201
  • Telephone code: +91-6344 ; +91-6342
  • Vehicle registration: BR-08
  • Major highways: NH-33, NH-333 , NH-333B