Geography of Bihar

Bihar is situated in the eastern part of India. It is the third-biggest state by populace and twelfth-biggest by area, with an area of 94,163 sq km. It is a land-locked state having boundaries with three Indian states Uttar Pradesh, Jharkhand, and West Bengal. The state is divided into 2 parts one is North Bihar and the other is called South Bihar.

Climate of Bihar

The environment in Bihar is fairly outrageous. The summer arrives in early April, which is the point at which the hot westerly wind starts blowing during the day. May and June are the most sweating months of the year. In a regular year, the rainstorm shows up in the third week of June and goes on for the rest of September. The winter time of the year starts in November and goes on until the start of Spring i.e. in February.

Important Rivers of Bihar

The Ganga is the main River which spans 445 kilometers in Bihar. Waterways in North Bihar: North Bihar Fields are an alluvial plain in Bihar that is found north of the Ganga River. These plains are traversed by numerous seasonal and perennial rivers. In the north of Bihar, some of the most significant rivers are

  • Ghaghra
  • Gandak
  • Budhi Gandak
  • Bagmati
  • Kosi
  • Mahananda

The major rivers in south Bihar are

  • Karmnasa
  • Sone
  • Punpun
  • Kiul
  • Badua Chandan

Bihar in Agriculture Fields

Bihar lies in the river fields of the basin of the waterway Ganga. This makes the agribusiness of Bihar rich and diverse. Rice, wheat, and maize are significant grain crops. In Bihar, pulses like arhar, urad, moong, gram, pea, lentils, and khesaria are grown.

Bihar is the fourth biggest maker of vegetables, which is overwhelmed by potatoes, onions, eggplant, and cauliflower. In fruit production, it is the biggest producer of lychee (Litchi) and the third biggest maker of pineapple, as well as a significant maker of mango, banana, and guava. Bihar is the largest producer of makhana representing over 85% of the overall production of India.

Geographical Boundaries of Bihar

There are seven districts that border Nepal:

  • West Champaran
  • East Champaran
  • Sitamarhi, Madhubani
  • Supaul
  • Araria
  • Kishanganj

A total of seven districts share the border with UP :

  • West Champaran
  • Gopalganj
  • Siwan
  • Saran
  • Bhojpur
  • Buxar
  • Kaimur

Three districts border West Bengal are :

  • Kishanganj
  • Purnia
  • Katihar

There are eight districts which border Jharkhand are below:

  • Rohtas
  • Aurangabad
  • Gaya
  • Jamui
  • Bhagalpur
  • Katihar
  • Nawada
  • Banka