Explore Champaran District

Origin of Name Champaran

Champa-aranya or Champkatanys is the source of the name Champaran. Champa or Champaka implies Magnolia and aranya wreck backwoods. Subsequently, Champaranya implies Forest of Magnolia (CHAMPA) trees.

A small introduction to Champaran District

Champaran is a district in the state of Bihar in India. The distric was created in the year 1866. On 2 November 1972 it was split into two districts: Paschim Champaran (West champaran) and Purbi Champaran (East champaran). In 1917, Mohandas Gandhi lead a satyagraha movement in Champaran district against British government policies.

Champaran District in History

In 1917, Gandhi lead a satyagraha movement in Champaran district against British government policies. During that period, British landowners used to put pressure on local farmers to grow indigo and buy it at lower prices. Mahatma Gandhi was persuaded to visit Champaran by Raj Kumar Shukla, which eventually resulted in the Champaran Satyagraha.

In response to Gandhi's movement, British government arrested him and later released, did amendments to improve peasants situation. This was Gandhi's first movement in India and the first victory of Civil Disobedience.

Why is Champaran famous?

Although Champaran is famous for many things, but the thing that makes it most effective is the Satyagraha movement carried out by Gandhiji. This movement is also important because this movement laid the foundation of India's independence. If we talk about food, Champaran's delicious Handi Chicken and Handi Mutton are popular in major cities of North India.

Some important personalities of Champaran who have brought fame to Champaran district in the country and the world by working in their field. Politics, Film, Journalism are many such professions where some important persons have achieved good positions.

Notable people of Champaran

  • Manoj Bajpai – Indian film actor
  • Dinesh Bhramar – poet and noted figure in Hindi and Bhojpuri literature
  • Anuranjan Jha – Indian journalist
  • Prakash Jha – Indian filmmaker
  • Ramesh Chandra Jha – Indian poet, novelist and freedom fighter
  • Abdullah Khan – novelist and screenwriter
  • Ravish Kumar – Indian journalist
  • Gopal Singh Nepali – Indian poet of Hindi literature, Bollywood lyricist
  • George Orwell – English novelist, essayist, journalist and critic
  • Kedar Pandey – Congress leader and ex-Chief Minister of Bihar
  • Raj Kumar Shukla – indigo cultivator, activist
  • Radha Mohan Singh – Indian politician
  • Sanjeev K Jha – Indian script writer, filmmaker

East Champaran and West Champaran

In the year 1972, Champaran district was divided into two parts. One part was called East Champaran and the other was called West Champaran. Motihari became the headquarters of East Champaran district and Bettiah became the headquarters of West Champaran.

East Champaran

East Champaran is a part of Tirhut division. At present East Champaran consists of six subdivisions and twenty-seven blocks. Some of the visiting places in East Champaran district are - Someshwar Nath Mandir, Areraj, Kesariya, Ashokan Pillar, Moti Jheel, Champaran Satyagrah Park, George Orwell Monument.

West Champaran

The district headquarter is Bettiah. West Champaran is the largest district in Bihar with an area of 5,228 km². West Champaran is the biggest sugarcane creating district of Bihar in 2022. West Champaran area contains the accompanying Sub-Divisions: Bettiah, Bagaha, and Narkatiaganj. Lok Sabha voting demographics in the district are Paschim Champaran, Valmiki Nagar. Vidhan Sabha voting demographics in the district are Valmiki Nagar, Ramnagar, Narkatiaganj, Bagaha, Lauriya, Nautan, Chanpatia, Bettiah, Sikta