Like us to support us !

About Araria District (Araria Jila)

Araria, one of the 38 districts of the state of Bihar, has its headquarter in Araria town. It has mainly 2 sub-divisions - Araria, Forbesganj. Araria comes under Purnia division.

Mr. Alexander Forbes, who was an officer in the British Era. It is said that the place where Mr. Forbes lived was called "Residential Area" and local people used to say it "R. Area". And in this way the name of this district became Araria and sub-division was named as Forbesganj.

Vidhan Sabha in Araria District

Raniganj, Forbesganj, Araria, Jokihat and Sikti are vidhan sabha in Araria Lok Sabha constituency.

How to reach Araria?

You can reach to Araria by Road or by Train very easily from any part of India. Araria Court (Code - ARQ) is the nearest railway station. Nearest airport to Araria is Bagdogra which is 129 KM away from Araria. Bagdogra is in Silliguri subdivision of Darjeeling district in the Indian state of West Bengal. Patna to Araria is approximately 320 KM.

Araria district at a glance

RegionNorth Bihar
Population28 Lakhs
Literacy Rate53%
Area2,830 kmĀ²
Member of Parliament(MP)Pradeep Kumar Singh (BJP)
No. of Blocks9
No. of Sub-divisions2
No. Villages751
Key HighlightsShiva temple , Maata aasawar mandir , Replica Stoop, Kali Mandir
Data updated on April, 2021

Famous places in Araria Dsitrict

# Place Name Advertisement
1 Araria Advertisement in Araria
2 Forbesganj Advertisement in Forbesganj
3 Jogbani Advertisement in Jogbani

Premium advertisement Bihar